How is the value of a California workers’ compensation claim calculated?


A workplace accident can leave injured workers uncertain about their financial future. Will workers’ compensation really provide them with enough to manage their household expenses and the cost of recovery? To answer these critical questions, workers may want to know how California law establishes the value of a workers’ compensation claim.

California law sets a minimum and maximum for workers’ compensation.

In California, workers injured on the job will receive a required minimum and a legal maximum for workers’ compensation. If a person is temporarily totally disabled, they will receive at least $203.44 per week in 2021. In 2021, the maximum amount that workers can receive is $1,356.31 per week.

How much will workers receive?

The amount that a worker receives when they are temporarily disabled after a workplace accident depends on their regular weekly income. The amount that they will receive will be up to two-thirds of that regular pay. For example, if you earned $900 per week, you would receive $600 per week in workers’ compensation benefits.

Workers who experience permanent disability as a result of a workplace injury will receive different amounts based on the type and extent of their injury and other adjustments. For example, a worker left permanently blind in one eye due to an injury in 2014 would receive a maximum of $34,437.50. They will receive those payments either until they reach the maximum amount allowed by law or until they achieve a settlement.

Because the value of a claim can vary significantly, it can be important for workers to seek legal advice when navigating the workers’ compensation system. The proper guidance can help them get the financial support they need.

Request A Consultation

” * ” Indicates Required Fields

"*" indicates required fields

I Have Read The Disclaimer*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.